Skip to content

26 of 52: Nightwing #1

by on September 27, 2011

Wrapping up the week 3 titles, and I decided to go with Nightwing. Very simply, Dick Grayson has probably been my favorite comic book character, and is definitely the character who I identify with the most. However, I’ve always had a simple problem with Dick Grayson, and that is that I like how Marv Wolfman and George Perez write him better than anyone else. It’s been at least 15 years since Marv Wolfman left The New Titans, and STILL I read Nightwing and just shake my head, saying “No, that’s not the Dick Grayson I know”

I’m a sad sad sad little comic book geek.

Regardless, it’s time to turn the page, and hand Dick Grayson off to the writing talents of Kyle Higgins.

Nightwing #1: Welcome to Gotham
Writer: Kyle Higgins | Penciller: Eddy Barrows

Okay, in case you AREN’T reading comic books, then take a deep breath. Batman died.

Well, okay… Bruce Wayne Died…

But then he came back feeling much better. But when everyone thought he was dead, Dick Grayson (the original Robin) took over as The Batman in Gotham City. For a short time, Dick Grayson was appearing in 3-4 monthly titles, and now that Bruce is back, he is kicked out of the bat costume, and back to the costume and title he had for years before Batman died: Nightwing. So Dick gets a new lease on life and a new #1 issue.

Synopsis:

  • Dick is back as Nightwing in the city of Gotham and patrolling the city, and takes down a murderer.
  • Dick contemplates visiting Haley’s Circus which is where he grew up, and where he left when his parents were murdered.
  • A ginger-haired stranger is confronted by some muggers, but he fights them off very easily, either killing them or hurting them really badly.
  • Dick moves into a new loft that is closer to the downtown areas, so he can more easily patrol the city.
  • Dick goes to the circus and meets up with old friends. And practices acrobatics with an attractive red haired girl named Raya (who he was friends with) and her boyfriend Marc.
  • Dick is attacked by a hired costume killer. He fights him as Nightwing, and is surprised by the information that the killer gives him.

Questions and Answers:

  1. Is the masked attacker the same man who got off the Gotham City bus?

Analysis

  • I started off hating this issue, but I really got into it at the end. The first half is very familiar very tired old Dick Grayson tropes and memes. But the second half was much more intriguing.
  • I do not agree with using the color Red for Nightwing’s costume.  I get that it’s a little bit of a connection to his former identity as Robin.  But since 1985 Nightwing has been blue and black  How you can be a costumed night-time vigilante in Gotham City, and have a huge streak of red across your chest, is beyond me.
  • I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE the idea that Dick Grayson wasn’t comfortable in The Batman costume. Nightwing is a strong enough character that if he REALLY didn’t like it, that he wouldn’t have put the cowl on.
  • I didn’t like the ‘arrogant’ narrative of Dick’s at the beginning, but the dichotomy at the end where he realizes that his foe is faster than he, makes it pay off.
  • Great artwork that really shows off the acrobatic skills of Dick Grayson, and his unique fighting style.
  • When I heard that Haley’s Circus was going to make an appearance in issue #1, I figured that Kyle Higgins was going to write the typical: Dick Grayson returns to Haley’s Circus for the first time since his parents were murdered. When I read that Dick HAD been back to Haley’s, but never when it was in Gotham. I applauded. Thank you.
  • I’m not sure how I feel about Dick’s attraction to Raya who has a boyfriend. On one hand, it’s updating morality to the 21st century, on the other hand this doesn’t seem like Dick Grayson behavior.
  • No WAY that Dick allows two police officers to attack a hired killer with blades on his hands, just so he can change into a Nightwing costume.
  • Dick feels overmatched by the hired killer, which is somewhat surprising.
  • Startling amount of blood in this issue, and in most of the DCnU comics that have been released. Very surprising for an episode of Nightwing.

Rating

The mystery surrounding the masked killer really brought me in. I thought I was going to hate this comic book, but now I am sufficiently intrigued. Nightwing is definitely on my list to purchase next month.

B

From → Comic Books, DCnU

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

