Skip to content

Doctor Who Episode 6.12: Closing Time

by on September 27, 2011

Doctor Who (series 5)

Image via Wikipedia

There are days, I feel I should give up the whole thing and devote myself to geeky pursuits. But I like being social.

Anyway, we’re nearing the end. End of Doctor Who Series Six. And supposedly the end of The Doctor’s life. But before we get there, we have one last humorous episode where The Doctor pays a visit to his good friend Craig from last year’s episode The Lodger.

Synopsis:

  • Strange things are happening in the streets of London, flickering lights, all centered around a department store, where the Cybermen appear to be the villain.
  • The Doctor comes to visit Craig who has been left alone with his newborn son for the weekend, but The Doctor recognizes strange things happening.
  • In the department store, The Doctor searches for the disturbance. He and Craig board an elevator that teleports them to the Cybermen ship, and they disable the teleporter.
  • The Doctor and Craig capture a Cybermat that tries to attack both of them. Eventually The Doctor realizes that the Cybermen aren’t in a spaceship, but below the store.
  • The Doctor confronts the Cybermen, and Craig is nearly turned into a Cyberman himself, but hears his baby’s cries and uses his emotions to fight back.
  • Doctor River Song is captured by Madame Kovarian and The Silence, and she is placed inside the Astronaut suit.

Quotes

The Doctor: Oh, you’ve redecorated! I don’t like it.

Craig: He just cries all the time. I mean, do they have off switches?
The Doctor: Human beings, no. Believe me, I’ve checked.

The Doctor: Though personally, he prefers to be called Stormageddon, Dark Lord of All.

The Doctor: Just go, shouldn’t notice things. Just go, stop noticing, just go, stop noticing, just go…. Stop it! Am I noticing? No. No, I am not. And what I am not doing is scanning around for electrical fluctuations. Oh shut up, you. I’m just dropping in on a friend. The last thing I need right now is a patina of teleport energy. I’m going, do you here me, going? Not staying, going. I am through saving them. I am going away now.

The Doctor: Is that so?
Craig: Yeah, you always win. You always survive.
The Doctor: Those were the days.

The Doctor: Partner. Yes. I like it. Is it better than companion?
Val: Companion. Sounds old fashioned. There’s no need to be coy these days.

The Doctor: It must be shielded from metastatic energy. Of course!
Craig: Of course!
The Doctor: Don’t worry, I have an app for that.

The Doctor: You know when I was little like you I dreamt of the stars. Yeah. I think it’s fair to say, in the language of your age, that I lived my dream. I owned the stage. Gave it a hundred and ten percent. I hope you have as much fun as I did, Alfie.

The Doctor: Safe mode. Clever me. Come along, bitey.

Craig: You used up your time for me?
The Doctor: Of course I did. You’re me mate.

Questions and Answers

  1. The Doctor CAN speak baby. It wasn’t just a joke.
  2. River Song is placed into the Astronaut suit underneath the lake to kill The Doctor.
  3. Why doesn’t River Song remember The Silence in The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon?
  4. We still don’t know why The Doctor would invite Canton Delaware to the lake where he is scheduled to die.

Analysis

This is a bit weird, because I enjoyed watching the episode… I was thoroughly entertained. Yet… I find I have nothing to say about it. I find that there is nothing particularly interesting to write about the episode. And I find it difficult even remembering the name of the episode when trying to remember it.

I get the feeling when I remember this episode, that it will simply be the second episode with the guy from The Lodger, and not “Closing Time”.

I liked The Lodger more than Closing Time. Much more in fact, as I felt this coasted on the already established relationship between The Doctor and Craig. The lines that The Doctor spoke were very very funny. I thought it missed by giving Craig this automatic trust in The Doctor.

It’s almost as if Craig (by The Doctor head-butting the information into him in The Lodger) is the humanistic good side of The Doctor and The Dream Lord is the self-conscious doubting evil side of The Doctor. Kindof interesting, in a way.

I know that we are supposed to know that The Doctor has been travelling for over 100 years or so by himself, but there is no indication of it on his face or anything. They play it as if it’s only been a few weeks since he dropped off Amy and Rory. (Never bought the Doctor been travelling solo for that long, even when first introduced). The was no weight to the time and there was no indication of it that I heard in any of the spoken lines.

I actually bought The Cybermen as a significant monster in this episode. I thought this episode played on the emotionless creepiness of them as a monster/baddie, more than any episode since the Age of Steel two-parter. I mean they were easily dispatched by Craig’s emotions, but I thought it was a significant bump up.

And I did NOT buy Amy as a spokes-model for a perfume company.  Just.. no….   Sorry…

The ending with River Song just seemed too easy. I don’t know that there was another way of doing it, but regardless: Madame Kovarian just walks into a room with The Silence when River Song becomes a doctor, and just grabs her forcing her into the Astronaut suit. Nothing about the mental conditioning. Nothing about The Silence using their powers to make her do something. No, just walk in and muscle her into the suit.

And I KNOW that if River Song does indeed kill The Doctor that she can’t tell anyone about it. And also that she might be forced to forget it. But still why would she go through the entire two-parter (Impossible Astronaut and Day of the Moon) without any hint of what’s going on.

Review

Okay, I enjoyed it, and it’s not meant to be a deep episode. But it left a bad aftertaste, as I didn’t like writing about it. But maybe that’s me. Can’t blame the episode on my weird mood.

B-

From → Doctor Who

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

